New BSP governor Espenilla, MB members take oath | News5

     5 months ago
Leave a Comment

MANILA – Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) Governor Nestor Espenilla Jr., whose term starts July 3, 2017, took his oath before Finance Secretary Carlos Dominguez III at the Department of Finance (DOF) office in Manila Monday morning by authority of President Rodrigo R. Duterte.

Espenilla succeeds Amando M. Tetangco Jr., who served two consecutive six-year terms which ended July 2, 2017.

Before his appointment as BSP chief, Espenilla was Deputy Governor for Supervision and Examination Sector (SES).
He graduated Magna cum Laude from UP Diliman School of Economics with a Bachelor of Science in Business Economics in 1980.

He took his Master in Business Administration Honors Program at the UP College of Business Administration. He also attended the Graduate Institute of Policy Science in Tokyo, Japan.

READ  Impeachment trial ni Bautista, 'di matutuloy kung 'effective immediately' ang resignation - Speaker

Among his other professional experiences is serving as Assistant to the Executive Director (Western Pacific) of the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

During the same oath-taking Monday, Dominguez also swore into office two new members and a re-appointed member of the central bank’s policy Monetary Board (MB).

MB Member and former Socioeconomic Planning Secretary Felipe Medalla was re-appointed to another six-year term.

The two new MB Members are former Trade and Industry Secretary Peter Favila, who was a member of the Board from 2008-14, and banker Dr. Antonio Abacan Jr.

Source link


Post Comments